Learning to go with the flow….

When it comes to my homeschool planning, I have typically been such a type A mom. Organizing the children by color so there would be no confusing as to what belongs to whom, having all of their curriculum chosen, purchased and a lesson plan made for the following year made before they have completed the one they are currently working on. (Which would subsequently mean my children would be overly interested in their new curriculum and lose interest in finishing out the current year, wanting to plunge ahead into the new one without taking a break). Not sure if that sounds familiar to anyone else out there reading this.

This year I did things differently. I do not know if it is because of how busy things became with life in general or what, but I have not only come to accept that this way is okay, I actually think I like it this way better. In focusing on what is going on in my life and not planning as far in advance as I used to do, it actually has removed stress.

I see other moms post on Facebook asking about when everyone is going to start their homeschool year and just this morning I was able to comment on one that as of right now, I am still waiting on some curriculum for my kids to arrive (shoot, there is some I still need to order, but as those are subscription kits that I am planning on incorporating into our learning, I’m not too worried about them taking a little longer to get here than the rest of the homework, they will be a welcome distraction), and that even when it did arrive, I still have to get things together and make a plan for it all. And when I posted that, the other mom responded that she loved that flexibility of homeschool and I have got to say I do to.

So no matter where you are in your homeschool journey right now; still planning, currently chugging along on homework or still trying to get things together, just take a moment and tell yourself that that is okay  because that is the beauty of homeschooling. You do not have to have it all together right now, you do not have to have everything ordered right now, and you do not have to always know what you’re doing. That’s okay. And if you’re one of those moms who do have it all together and your kids are currently chugging along on their homework right now, that’s okay too. The beauty of homeschooling is the ability of being able to just go with the flow…

7b1c23872d1bb12bd2b89ebd7e245bc5

Leave a Reply

